2020 A-R-C Women's Tennis Individual Tournament Set For October 17

10/15/2020 2:00:00 PM

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa -- The 2020 American Rivers Conference (A-R-C) Women's Tennis Individual Flighted Singles (A,B,C) and Doubles (A,B) Tournament will be a one-day event and take place Friday, October 17 in Des Moines, Iowa with play beginning at 11:00 a.m.

The Championships will take place at the following sites:
  • Crossroads Park Tennis Courts: A-Singles (6 courts) 
    • Woodland Ave & 50th St., West Des Moines, Iowa 50266
  • Valley Southwoods: A-Doubles & B-Doubles (9 courts) - Remaining A/B-Doubles will move to Crossroads courts at 3:00 p.m. if there are matches still to be played.
    • 625 S 35th St, West Des Moines, IA 50266
  • Norwalk High School Tennis Courts: B-Singles & C-Singles (11 courts)
    • 486 Cherry St., Norwalk, Iowa 50211

This years tournament, hosted by Buena Vista University, will feature 9 players in the A-flight singles, 16 B-flight singles players, and 23 entries in the C-flight singles. Doubles action will see 10 teams take the court in the A-flight and 15 in the B-flight. Due to the tournament moving from a two-day event to a one-day event, each student-athlete was permitted to enter in either singles or doubles competition this year.

Three of the top four finishers from the 2019 A-Singles flight return to the field for a shot at gold. Luther's Devon Bourget returns looking to defend her 2019 gold medal. Bourget's teammate, Shelby Cook returns after finishing 2nd last year, and Simpson's Emily King took 3rd. Wartburg's Madi Overmann, who finished fourth a year ago, also returns in the hunt for the gold medal in 2020. Simpson's Anna Wanek will enter this year's tournament as the No. 1 overall seed, while Bourget enters the tournament as the No. 2 seed, and Cook as the No. 3 seed.

Marianna Bayona of Loras enters in the B-Singles flight in 2020 after finishing 3rd a year ago in C-Singles and is the No. 4 seed. Luther's Sydney Clausen also jumps up to B-Singles flight after a C-Singles 2nd place finish in 2019. Simpson's Megan Grubb will be the top-seed in this year's B-Singles draw. Rachel Brockney and Nicole Lange of Buena Vista are seeded No. 2 and No. 3, respectively.

The C-Singles flight will see new faces earning medals in 2020, with the the two returning medalists moving up to the B-Singles flight. 

As the defending champions of the A-Doubles flight, Bourget and Cook of Luther, choosing to play in Singles this year, the gold medal will be up for grabs this weekend. Additionally, none of the other A-Doubles semifinalists from a year ago return to the draw in 2020. Alyssa Lewton and Karleigh Schilling of Central College enter the tournament as the No. 1 seed. Schilling landed a fourth place finish in A-Doubles in 2018, and looks to continue that doubles success in 2020. Loras' Audrey Hinz and Maddie Smith earned the No. 2 and Coe's Eliza Sundermann and Emma Lassen enter the draw as the No. 3 seed.

Luther's 2019 B-Doubles gold medal duo of Anna Spencer and Aurora Schossow is being broken up in 2020, as Spencer will compete in A-Doubles and Schossow will compete in B-Singles. Loras' Sara Backus and Wartburg's Sydney Powers will join Spencer and jump up to A-Doubles this year, after 3rd place and 2nd place finishes in 2019, respectively. Backus enters the A-Doubles field with partner Isabel Schwabe, while Powers will team up with Sydney Rottinghaus. Two individuals from the top four duos a year ago return to B-Doubles competition in 2020 with new partners. Luther's Megan Grimm and Jalen DenHartog, after a fourth place finish in 2019, will compete with different partners. Grimm will pair up with Natalie Niff and DenHartog will join forces with Sarah Behrens. Behrens competed last year and won the C-Singles flight gold medal. This year's No. 1 overall seed belongs to Central's Katie Larson and Macy Scharff who advanced to the second round together in the B-Doubles bracket in 2019.

Draws for the 2020 championship can be found on tournament page. Updated results will be posted to the tournament page and the website.
Don't forget to become a fan of the American Rivers Conference on Facebook @AmericanRiversConference, Twitter @AmerRiversConf, and Instagram @AmericanRiversConference.